Book Review (Part 2): Time to Write

Author: Kelly L. Stone

Adams Media, 2008

245 pages / Non-fiction

In my last review of this book, I summed up the first chapter of Kelly L. Stone’s book, Time to Write. Here’s the next chapter summary:

 Chapter Two: The Burning Desire to Write

Stone shows that successful writers have another common trait—besides Writing No Matter What. They all seem to have a Burning Desire to Write. Writers have to write. She’s right. If I don’t write, or plow through something in the creative process related to writing (i.e., thinking of new story ideas), I’m uneasy, sometimes depressed. Stone asks a great question: Do you like yourself better on the days that you write versus the days that you don’t? Yes. The fact is writers are meant to tell stories. That’s what we do. If we don’t do, we’re through.

Writers are also readers. We read because we love the written word, whether fiction or non-fiction. Writers are also creative high achievers. What is that? The author defines them this way: They, 1) seek out solitude to develop creativity, 2) have vivid imaginations, 3) are go-getters and take risks, 4) don’t follow the crowd, and, 5) set challenging goals.

Successful writers also believe they can write. I love these quotes from the book:

  • “I had to let go of the debilitating belief that mere mortals cannot write a book. Once I realized that, nothing could stop me, because I believe in my deepest heart that I was put on this earth to tell my stories and entertain readers” – bestselling author, Roxanne St. Claire.
  • “…I doubted I could write a novel because I’d never be Tolstoy. It finally dawned on me that the world already had a Tolstoy, and it didn’t need another one. Which is when I decided to tell my stories my way” – bestselling author, JoAnn Ross.

Reviewed by Electric Eclectic (David Stucki)

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Book Review (Part 2): Time to Write

  1. Johnny Lamb says:

    They, 1) seek out solitude to develop creativity, 2) have vivid imaginations, 3) are go-getters and take risks, 4) don’t follow the crowd, and, 5) set challenging goals.

    Successful writers also believe they can write

    All I can say is……RELATE……RELATE……RELATE !!

    • eclecticpills says:

      Up until April (yeah, this month!), I wasn’t much of a goal-setting type, but I’m DEFINITELY #1, 2, 3, and 4! Thanks for your comment, man!

Leave a Reply

