Quote: Motivations #2

MP900316894[1]I was wrong. I’ll admit it. Don’t pressure me, man! 

Remember that post of mine from ages ago when I talked about things like art and truth? You know the one: back when I was young, foolish—impetuous. Oh, that was just last week? Last week? If you haven’t read it, do so now: Can Good Stories Be More Than Entertainment?

This quote is good. Serious good. (Does this woman always have the best quotes, or what? Ah, yeah. She’s on Hallmark cards, of course.)

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.” ― Maya Angelou

While not wrong, I felt rebuked…slightly. The quote made me think again my motivations. (Who am I kidding: I’m always thinking of my motivations.) Pulling art, writing, or whatever from the well of love always produces the best result.

From love.

For love.

In love.

Why do you write? Do it for love.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Quote: Motivations #2

  1. wisejourney says:

    I write cos I like the way words sing…see: it’s not just the birds that have songs 🙂

    • eclecticpills says:

      Hmmm…thought I replied. Yes! I love the way they bounce and dance with each other. That alone is a joy. That is motivation in itself. Thanks for the like and comment!

  2. Pretty much what wisejourney says, I write because I want to spread my words, whatever they are, and hope someone (including myself) gets something out of it in the future.

    • eclecticpills says:

      Agreed. Nothing wrong with that. There is joy in sharing…even if no one accepts the gift initially. Giving is loving. Peace. Thanks for the like and the comment!

Leave a Reply

