Your Brain on Books: Keep Reading, Keep Writing

Personal Blogger Admission: I hated reading at one time. Yeah, I know.

My mother worked at a bookstore. My older sisters worked at the same bookstore. (You’d think that would have been a positive advantage, right?) For Christmas, my mother gave me books instead of toys. Any small, thin gift was suspect. It didn’t matter what she did: I didn’t like to read. I didn’t even like to read comic books. Yeah, I know.

And, then a time came when people hated me. An extreme statement, but in the new town to which we moved, there were few friends for a 12-year old. I retreated into books, and I fell in love with them. Fell in love with the words, the sounds…the feel. It was my first drug, my first love. (Well, besides a little unrequited six-grade love the year before.)

My wife was once asked if I had any vices. Her reply: reading.

Now I find that science backs up my love for reading: Your Brain on Books

Read on.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Your Brain on Books: Keep Reading, Keep Writing

  1. Yea, scientific evidence that me reading is the awesomest thing ever! Haha..

  2. I hated reading at one times as well.

    My, how things change!

    • eclecticpills says:

      Yeah, I don’t get it. It’s like falling in love with someone you initially hated. Strange. Books were not a love-at-first-site thing.

  3. Rebecca Stucki says:

    Well, if reading is your only vice, I’d say she’s got it pretty good!

Leave a Reply

