Writing Advice from a Loser (#1) – Know Thyself

MP900387767[1]I have published nothing. I’m on my third unfinished novel—at least. Languishing on my hard drive, there are over 50 (securely backed-up) story ideas. I’m dreadful at finishing what I start. I love ideas, but hate working out the details, hate executing every little minor but important bit of information that could haunt me later for lack of continuity. Of course, I love the end product…if I can get to an end product.

So do you really want my writing advice? I think you do.

I’ve learned a lot. I can share my pain and my suffering with you as a writer. Will you avoid my mistakes? I sure hope you do!

One BIG reason that I’ve made so many mistakes is that I’ve tried to be somebody I’m not. I’ve followed too many opinions when it comes to the creative process of novel writing and screenwriting. For both the overall writing process and the editing process.

The greatest advice I can give a writer (beside write EVERY FLIPPIN’ DAY) is this:

Here it comes…

Do what works for you.

It’s that simple. However, figuring out what works for you isn’t simple. It takes time to understand yourself. That’s the biggest reason I believe writing can be so difficult. There are no excuses, no easy detours around the hard work of writing.  It’s a trial-and-error, pain-inducing, psyche-all-in creative act—all for the purpose of discovering you and creating great stories other will read. It’s so worth it in the end.

Discover yourself in the journey, but discover yourself as you write. As you write, you’ll learn what works and what doesn’t work. Take note of those things and keep doing them.

Before you know it, you’ll finish a book.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Writing Advice from a Loser (#1) – Know Thyself

  1. Rebecca Stucki says:

    So, have you finished a book yet? I’m starting to think we need collaborators – someone with no ideas but great follow-through. I’m the same way as you – great (?) ideas, but then I don’t follow through. Kinda like Dad….?

    • eclecticpills says:

      Very close. The first book in the series (I know; a series? How about one book first?) I hope to start posting some teaser chapters here soon. Collaborators would be nice, but my question is how do you avoid one person doing most of the work? Ideas alone aren’t the hard part. It takes WORK to figure out all the details. Follow through can be broken down a little at time, but it takes focus.Dad had too many distractions, too many ideas. I have the same problem, but I think I learned from his mistakes.

Leave a Reply

